4th of July and Birthday Care Package

Big day for posting (and I thought I’d get away with re-posting my first ever blog)! It’s helping to organize my thoughts and feelings in a major way. I also busted behind to finish 3 household projects yesterday when I normally take sabbath time, so it’s a fair swap. Okay, I’m done rationalizing.

4th of July care package

I sent this package over 2 weeks ago. I typically wait until DH receives a package until I post it, but this one is taking forever. I poured my heart and soul into it because this is DH’s first birthday that we aren’t together.

His first birthday we were together, he had been working at Africom for the summer and was very hard to reach. We had 2 half hour phone conversations in 2 months, and we had only been dating since February. I wondered if this was the life for me, but I couldn’t stop thinking about him, he had already permeated my being. The day before his birthday he arrived at a major hub from Germany and we flew the rest of the way to his Colorado hometown together (it was my first time meeting his parents). Over a mile above sea level and after 13 hours in transit we arrived late on his birthday eve, and his mother cough poured me the strongest margarita I’ve ever had. We sat out on the deck and I watched him catch up with his family, fill us in on all his adventures and present the gifts he had brought for us from his travels. I got up to get a glass of water and nearly tipped over. Holy tequila, Batman!  Oh, how she laughed! (I swear to this day she did it on purpose). My mother in law has an incredible laugh. We had an amazing 5 days hiking as a family, off-roading, enjoying a leisurely 3 hour dinner at a downtown steakhouse where his parents told stories about all the times he could have died as a child. That was almost exactly 5 years ago.

But I digress. The point is, the care package. I accidentally used a non-flat rate box (oops) so the scrapbook paper doesn’t reach all the way to the bottom as it should. I always use a couple weeks of comics on the bottom so he can read them. I filled the bottom with America. Apple crumble cups, chocolate chip cookies, one of those 20 WWII movies sets, and some of his favorite tv shows on disk. Cholulua jerky, Key West coconut lime patties and coconut water are also his favorites.

Image

Okay, ‘Merica represented, I moved on to a smaller box just for his  birthday. I pasted pictures of his favorite people all over the inside of the box, and then put a bunch of cheap prints from our wedding in the bottom (so if they get wrecked it doesn’t matter). I found a place that sells microwave birthday cake kits (Perpetual Kid has so much fun stuff for care packages if you have the money!). This made me feel so much better about him not having a home made gourmet cake for the first time in five years (many years, I have made a four layer car bomb cake based on this recipe from Smitten Kitchen). I added some star spangled plates and napkins since I’m not sure if they have that kind of stuff to even serve the cake. I asked if there was anything he really wanted for his birthday and he said no. So I decided to send some cigars for him to share with the guys since he hasn’t gotten to do that in a long while. And, as a special treat, a little reminder of his alma mater (Go Army, Beat Navy!).

Image

Finally, I got a bunch of balloons, and blew them up without tying the bottom and used metallic sharpie to write “I love…” followed by the traits I adore about him and the things I am grateful for in our relationship. The last balloon says “Happy Birthday!!” Then I let the air back out, so when he blows them up he can read the message.

Image

There is one other special treat in there that I will share next week after he gets the package because I don’t want to risk ruining the surprise. It’s a pretty cool idea, and I don’t know of anyone else doing it, so keep an eye out, I’ll title the post “Care Package Bonus.”

2 thoughts on “4th of July and Birthday Care Package

  1. Jenn:
    I can’t wait to meet you! This was so much fun to read. It was a story book of the strength of your relationship shown through love and lots of fun. He will be thrilled to receive this care package. I remember well that he was born 25 years ago, 2 days before our wedding. This year will be a celebration for us as well, as we celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Each year on our anniversary, I always think of him. Special prayers for his safety and special thanks to all our troops for their service. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

