Nourishing No Bake Mini Chocolate Cheesecakes

[In Progress]

I am still tweaking this recipe, so I’m putting it out now for feedback. I will update it next weekend with pretty photos of the next batch and incorporating suggestions from anyone who wants to test it out.

  • 4 oz unsweetened bakers chocolate, chopped
  • 1/3 c hot coffee
  • 1 1/2 t high quality gelatin
  • 1/3 c pasteurized egg whites
  • 1/2 c plain or vanilla greek yogurt, drain liquid
  • 2/3 c raw sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • Chocolate wafer cookies

Dissolve gelatin in coffee, and microwave chocolate in a microwave safe mixing bowl about 45 seconds until mostly melted. Whisk gelatin mixture into chocolate and add sugar. Continue to whisk until sugar is dissolved. Add egg whites, yogurt, and salt, and whip. Place wafer cookies (I used Keebler fudge strip cookies) in the bottom of small pyrex cups, or if the wafers are slightly smaller you can use muffin cups. Cover with filling mix and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

It won’t taste sinful or decadent. But, you can eat it without feeling a little sick after only a sliver. I love a good, rich, dense chocolate cheesecake, but I can only eat a few bites before I feel ill these days, my body isn’t used to eating that way anymore. So, I like this recipe because it’s lighter but still silky, sweet and a little tangy, chocolaty without being rich.

On idea I am going to try is leaving 1 full cup of greek yougurt covered in cheesecloth or a paper towel in the fridge for a few days ahead of time to remove further moisture and make it closer to cream cheese. I will also try adding vanilla extract or orange liqueur. I will also tweak the sugar levels. Again, if anyone wants to experiment and report back, I welcome comments!

Serves: 4

Leave a Reply

