Dairy Free Ranch Dressing a la Ree Drummond

image

I love the Pioneer Woman. I love everything about her and her recipes. I also at the moment can’t eat dairy, because our little guy is allergic and still breastfeeding. But one of her recipes has been a godsend in my dairy free hell. Her ranch dressing recipe is the best, except that I would double all the herbs. I like my ranch close to green goddess dressing in herbiness, it lets you cut way back on salt without missing any flavor. Store bought dressings have absolutely hideous amounts of salt, even the organic ones (which aren’t diary free, or vice versa) and not many herbs at all. So, I make our own dressing, about once a week during the summer when we’re eating a ton of salad. This recipe is for a double batch, to share with a friend or if you really flipping love ranch dressing–or just cut it all in half.

Kinda-organic dairy-free ranch dressing

  • 16 oz jar organic mayo
  • unsweetened nut milk to taste (I prefer cashew milk)
  • 1 Tbsp low sodium Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp organic unfiltered apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp cayenne hot sauce
  • 1/3 c chopped fresh organic chives
  • 2 Tbsp dried parsley (or equivalent fresh)
  • 1 Tbsp dried dill weed (or equivalent fresh)
  • 5-6 large cloves of garlic, pressed, or smashed and minced
  • 1 heaping tsp low sodium salt

I didn’t go picture happy because, well, you mix it all in a bowl. The one thing I did take a picture of because it’s so cool, is the garlic clove peeler that came with my new garlic press. It’s a textured silicone tube that you roll the garlic in using firm pressure and the paper peels off flawlessly. I was skeptical, I’ve always done the smash and peel, but it works amazingly well.

image image

Mix all the ingredients except the nut milk, and then thin it out a tablespoon at a time to your desired consistency. Let it sit in the fridge overnight, then stir, taste, and adjust.

Leave a Reply

